Does Johnny Damon belong in Baseball’s Hall of Fame?

JD
One fan says, “Hall of Very Good.”

Another fan states, “No. If he did, they would have to start calling the Hall of Fame the Hall of Players who are Above Average.”

Johnny Damon’s best supporter for a Cooperstown plaque is Johnny Damon himself.

He told Tyler Kepner of The New York Times, “I think even if you look at my numbers now, how high I am on the runs list, how high I am on the doubles list, and you also have to take into account the ballparks that I’ve played in. I’ve played in some pretty tough ones for left-handers. If I played in Yankee Stadium my whole career, my 230 home runs turn into 300, easy.”

Most ballplayers don’t push for their own selection towards such enshrinement.

Baseball fan Tony Cunningham comments on Hardball Times that “Damon was very good, but not quite a Hall of Fame player even if he got to 3000 hits.”

Damon ended his playing career with 2,769 career hits.

Bill Petti of Sports Blog Nation agrees, “End of the day, I think Damon was a very, very good player, but not necessarily Hall of Fame worthy.”

Petti does add, “However, his unique blend of statistics combined with playing for two championship teams in major markets and being one of the most recognizable personalities in baseball will certainly endear him to a number of voters when the time comes.”

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

